What Are the 7 Movement of Ballet?


Ballet is a beautiful art form that has been around for centuries. It is based around seven movements, each of which has its own unique style and purpose.

These seven movements are adagio, allegro, pas de bourrée, grand pas de deux, petit allegro, grand allegro and pirouettes. Each movement helps to create the overall effect of a ballet performance.

Adagio is a slow and graceful dance that emphasizes strength and control. The dancers use long leg movements and turns to create a beautiful aesthetic. This movement is often used in the beginning of a ballet performance to set the tone.

Allegro is a lively dance that requires quick moves and light steps. It can be used to create excitement in a performance or to transition into more difficult steps. Allegros are often seen in the middle of performances.

Pas de Bourrée, also known as bourrée steps, are small steps taken on one foot while hopping lightly on the other foot. These steps are usually performed in pairs with alternating feet and create an interesting pattern across the stage.

Grand Pas de Deux, also known as the “dancing duet”, is usually the climax of a ballet performance with two principal dancers performing complex choreography together. The choreography typically involves intricate lifts, turns and jumps.

Petit Allegro, or “little allegro”, consists of quick jumps with small steps in between them. This movement requires strength and agility from the dancer as they move across the stage at high speeds.

Grand Allegro, or “big allegro”, consists of powerful jumps with large leaps in between them. This movement requires great strength from the dancer as they must be able to jump high into the air while maintaining control throughout their entire body.

Pirouettes:, also known as “spins” or “turns”, are an important part of ballet technique where dancers spin rapidly on one foot while keeping their other leg extended into an arabesque position for balance. Pirouettes require great strength and control from dancers as they often need to spin multiple times before coming back down onto their supporting foot.

The 7 movements of ballet provide structure for performances by creating different aesthetics that can be used to tell stories through dance. They also help dancers develop skillfulness when mastering each step separately before attempting them together during performances



The 7 Movement of Ballet are Adagio, Allegro Pas De Bourrée, Grand Pas De Deux, Petit Allegro Grand Allegro and Pirouettes which come together to provide structure within ballet performances by creating different aesthetics that can be used to tell stories through dance.