What Are the 3 Types of Ballet?


Ballet is an art form that requires immense strength, grace, and skill. It has been around for centuries and has inspired countless works of art.

But what exactly is ballet? What are the different types?

Ballet is a form of performance dance that originated in the Italian Renaissance courts of the 15th century. It is a highly technical form of dance with its own vocabulary and technique.

Its main components are the five basic movements: plié, relevé, grand battement, petit battement, and pirouette. Ballet also includes many other steps, such as jumps, turns, lifts, and more.

There are three main types of ballet: classical ballet, contemporary ballet, and neoclassical ballet. Classical ballet is the oldest form of ballet and focuses on technique and the execution of precise steps.

It follows a strict set of rules that must be adhered to in order to properly perform the steps. Contemporary ballet combines classical ballet with modern movements for a more expressive style of dance.

Neoclassical Ballet

Neoclassical ballet emerged in the 20th century as a way to blend together classical technique with modern ideas and concepts. This type of ballet often features intricate partnering moves and complex movement patterns that explore abstract ideas. Neoclassical ballets often strive to push boundaries while still retaining some elements from traditional classical ballets.


Ballet is an incredibly diverse form of dance that has evolved over centuries. There are three main types – classical ballet, contemporary ballet, and neoclassical ballet – each with their own unique style and characteristics. No matter which type you choose to study or watch, you can be sure it will be an enjoyable experience!